top of page
  • Mallory Haskins

The Do's and Don'ts to Being Danish

So you think you can be Scandinavian?


DISCLAIMER: Clearly I'm no Dane but here are a few helpful hints I've discovered in the month I've been here to help you be a little more Danish.


DO Learn how to use the doors....


I cannot express how many times I've looked like a fool simply trying to open a door. I don't know what it is but I was not born with the necessary skills to open a door. Now most Danish doors are a push or a pull. Meaning you'd think I would have a 50% chance of getting it right, but every time I stand there and choose incorrectly. BUT if there is one thing I've learned from my embarrassing efforts to opening doors it's these two words in Danish:


Tryk = Push
Træk = Pull

If you see either of these words on any door you can save yourself the embarrassment of holding up the people behind you whilst struggling to open a door.


 

DON'T talk obnoxiously loud on any form of public transportation


Whether you find yourself on the metro, S-train, bus, or regional train never ever get too rowdy. No it is not a party bus meant for excessive chit chat. Most Danes listen to music and really just keep to themselves. This could also just be because Danes are less into small talk and are, in general, more private people.


An S-train in Copenhagen

 

DO bike, bike, bike!


This one shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone. Copenhagen is known for its bikes and it's clear why. Most roads have bike lanes and boy am I glad. As a nervous cyclist, the safety of the bike lane gives me the courage to hop on and cycle 20 minutes away to the beach. Although, be sure to look out for the wind. Last Saturday my friend and I biked to Amager Strand Beach where you can bike along the coast. Sounds nice, right? Well not with gusts of a headwind around 40 mph...At that point we got off our bikes and walked because it was faster. My leg muscles were not, nor will they ever be, strong enough to battle wind. Even with the wind I suggest renting a bike!


For all you future DIS students, whether you live in the city or an hour away I still suggest renting a bike! They're so fun and honestly it decreases travel time by at least half compared to walking. Plus, how many times in your life will you get to say you biked to school everyday?


Bike parking lot at Nørreport Station


DON'T stay too late after work


One of the first things I noticed during my commute from downtown to my home in Christianshavn was the weirdly early rush hour. In the US, I'm used to rush hour between 5 and 7 pm. So naturally when I got on the metro around 3:45 pm and it was PACKED I was surprised. Rush hour in Copenhagen tends to be from 3:30 to 5:30 pm. Why you say? According to my family who lives in Denmark, it's because people actually leave work to go home and spend time with their family. I know, what a concept. It's true that the work-life Balance in Denmark is much more equal in Denmark than in the US. One of the doctors I met on an academic visit told me "Danes work to live, they don't live to work."


Along these lines, don't be surprised at the fact that most stores close at 5 or around then. For me, this was a big shock. Many stores aren't open when I want to go out and shop but again these early hours promote people to go home and spend time with their families.


DO wear black and other muted colors


Pack all of your black clothing. Seriously. I have never seen so many people wearing black before I came to Copenhagen. The Danes truly love their monotone clothing. If black's a little too dark and gloomy for you don't be afraid to opt for a nice white or tan color. I mean clearly it's not a crime to wear bright colors, just be prepared to be identified as a foreigner. Now you'd think that these muted colors may get boring but the Danes really have a way of looking effortlessly chic and fashionable at all hours of the day. So say bye to those yoga pants, no you don't have to throw them away, but sweatpants and groutfits don't count as 'real people' clothing here.


DO stop saying "Please" and "I'm sorry" but instead say "Thank you"


Something us Americans do that we may not think is weird is apologize A LOT. I kid you not I've apologized to a telephone pole after walking into it before. Saying you're sorry just isn't as common here and honestly I kind of like it. ALSO, I was shocked to discover that there is no Danish word for "Please." Crazy, right? Not so much when you think about it. The dominant word in any Dane's vocabulary is a simple "Thank you".

Tak = Thank you

Pleases get replaced by Thank you's. As my Danish professor told me, "thank you" may be so prevalent because of the equality felt all around Denmark. Or perhaps because every Danes really is thankful to their neighbors and strangers because of the Welfare system. Everyone truly helps everyone in this society. Whatever the reason, I know I have a lot to be thankful for!


Now go forth in the world and be a little more Scandinavian :)


Best of luck!

1,872 views0 comments
CPH Blogger Badge.jpg
bottom of page